Forcing yourself

I really like the running group I’m part of, but I wish they were a bit closer because sometimes the 45 minute drive each way (esp. on  short run weeks when we run for less time than I drive in one direction) tends to make me wonder if the effort is worth it.

This weekend I almost bailed on the Saturday run (a short one) since I knew I had to back again Sunday to see Jeff Galloway speak to the group, but I decided to force myself to do it. I’m glad I did because I met a new-to-me member.

Screen Shot 2014-06-16 at 3.57.03 PM

 

Then I made the same trip last night to see Galloway. He was funny and inspiring. Again I was glad I made the trip. (If only because I’d like to have that kind of energy when I’m 68.)  I really love his Run-Walk-Run method. Find out more here

And hey, I ended up buying new sneakers and inserts, so maybe the trip will result in my having less physical pain. Win-win!  🙂

I also forced myself to try something new today. I’m not sure how that’s going to work out, so I’ll keep it under wraps for now. Let’s just say it was outside my comfort zone.

Now it’s time to force myself to write. (No, I don’t write when I’m “inspired”. I write when it’s on my work schedule.)

Do you believe in forcing yourself to do tough stuff or do you tend to take the more comfortable route (which there’s NOTHING wrong with)?

One thought on “Forcing yourself

  1. Depends on the thing and the day. Some things… okay, most things… I’m on the more comfortable route with. But when something needs doing, and I really don’t want to do it, I can force myself. Like bathing the cat. Or going to the doctor’s office. Or editing. ;o)

    I’m so happy you found a running group you like, and that you made yourself go – both times. It was good for you and you ended up enjoying it. Yay.

Leave a Reply

