According to my schedule I should start writing a new book today. (Note that yesterday I talked about quitting running, today I’m talking about starting a new book…that’s pretty much my internal life, seesawing back and forth between two extremes.)

My work schedule SAYS it’s time to start, but I’m not ready. It’s not that I don’t have anything I want to write about. I have too many things. Too many ideas.  (I’m always so jealous of writers who tell me they only get one idea at a time. That sounds like heaven. I’m ALWAYS being distracted by shiny new playthings.)

I have three books I want to finish. And I know what the next Hitwoman book (EIGHT?!?!) is about. And I want to write the next Matchmaker Mystery.

Decisions. Decisions.

I’ll make a decision this afternoon. I find it’s best to make all important decisions AFTER the first pot of coffee, don’t you?

In terms of working toward my other goals, I ran with my running group yesterday.

It was the first time I encountered a loose dog on a group run. My instinct was to stop as soon as I noticed it (not wanting to engage the dog’s prey instinct) but the rest of the group seemed to continue on. Not sure if that was because they didn’t notice it, or if that’s the way they handle these things.  It ended up being a friendly mutt and his owner came chasing after him, but I still looked up what the “experts” have to say about what to do when you encounter a loose dog.

I found this article. While I agree with most of it, I’m not sure using a “firm” voice is the best idea. My personal belief is dogs can perceive that as a threat, instead I use a cheerful, almost sing-song voice — then again, I’m no expert.

 

In addition to the run-walk, which was probably about 3.5  miles total, I took a very easy 1.5 mile bike ride (my knee was killing me this week, so I trying to gently rehab it) and swam 5 relaxing laps. Not too much pain today…which puts me in a way better state than I was in earlier. 🙂

Are YOU making any decisions today?  I’m open to advice about how you reach your decisions.

 2 Days Down, 98 to Go

Yesterday I was quitting, today I’m starting

Tagged , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Yesterday I was quitting, today I’m starting

  1. I am in awe of your activity levels. Go you!

  2. jblynn says:

    Thanks, Toni.

    It would have been perfectly acceptable to say you think I’m insane, instead of politely saying you’re in awe. 😉

  3. Ack. I read this yesterday morning and meant to come back to it (not enough coffee for intelligent commenting) and then… well, you know me. Anyway, here I am after not having decided much of anything yesterday (and a failed attempt at sleeping).

    I think I’m a snap decision maker. It works for me most of the time (and sometimes not – sometimes with huge consequences). What to write? Whatever’s blowing my skirt up at the time I’m thinking about projects. Hubs is more methodical. He carefully weighs the options from every angle before he makes his final decision.

    And I’m with you on the dog thing. Strange dog approaches when I’m out and about, and I talk sweet to it. Calm, but sweet. ‘Hey pup-pup. Who’s a good dog?’ Unless he’s wandering into my yard to do his business, then he gets stern me. ‘Bad dog. Get home!’

  4. jblynn says:

    B.E. — I make snap decisions…then I talk myself out of said decisions….then eventually I work my way back to them, lol

Leave a Reply

