100 Day Goals

Image

 

In yesterday’s post I shared that today is the first of 100 days I’m going to use to take back my life. Today I’ll lay out my goals:

1) Write 200,000 words.  

With all the recent emotional turmoil, I haven’t been as productive as I’d have liked and it’s weighing on me as another “failure”.

I know that for some people this would be a piece of cake. 2000 words a day for 100 days. Easy math.  

Except life is never that clean. For one thing, if I wrote for 100 days straight I’m pretty sure my brain would explode (and there’s no amount of Bounty towels that could clean THAT up).  For another, some of those 100 days will be filled with other stuff, like family visits and a really cool writers conference. SOOOOO 200,000 words in 100 days is a pretty lofty goal.

 

2) Train for a half marathon.

I’ve signed up for a half marathon training program with an amazing group for a race that begins later this month so that I can hopefully complete my fourth (!) half in November. Unfortunately I’ve been plagued by old injuries recently, but I’m going to try to power through them and cross that finish line. I need a new medal.  😉

 

3) Lose 25 pounds.  

I’ve been guilty of self-medicating with food to numb my misery. No more! (Of course this means that my grocery cart may be loaded with even more Kleenex, but that’s okay. I’ll get through it.)

 

4) Meet new people.

There are many wonderful things about working from home, but it does make it a challenge to meet people and since I’ve moved to a state where I really didn’t know anybody, I’m sorely lacking in face-to-face contact. My virtual friends are awesome, but there are days when I wish I could speak out loud to someone other than my dog.  

 

5) Do things that make me happy 

I don’t even know what this will include, but I’m open to suggestions!

 

What would YOU like to accomplish in 100 Days?  

It doesn’t have to be on the same schedule as my 100 Days…just what kinds of things would you like to make a concentrated commitment to at some point?

BUT if you want to join me, today, or at any point in this journey, please do. I’d love to cheer you on.

jen

Image

 

Tagged , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “100 Day Goals

  1. Janet says:

    Excellent goals, JB – and you go, girl, take back that life with some kick-ass attitude.

    On the running front, I, too, am fighting an injury that just won’t let up, so I’m this close to signing up for a half where I will walk the whole thing (I must be crazy)! I hope your injury rights itself and you can get your training runs in (sounds like you’re enjoying your running group). And good luck with the rest of the list – I’ll be cheering you on from over here 🙂

  2. Those are awesome goals. I’m so happy you’re out there taking your life back, and I’m sure you’ll kick butt. I’ll be standing behind you with pompoms, cheering you on.

    As for my own 100 days… I just finished Djinn3 yesterday, so I’m setting that world aside, but during last night’s bout of insomnia, I started reading through a suspense manuscript I never edited and I’m loving it. Sooo, I’m giving myself the goal of having this edited, etc. and ready to query in 100 days. (With query letter, synopsis, etc. in hand.) Seems doable, but still tough enough to challenge me.

  3. jblynn says:

    Janet — I’ve walked an entire half. It’s actually a lot of fun at the back of the pack. I hope you do it (assuming of course that your injury will allow it). I’m actually with an official Galloway Group so it’s a Run Walk Run program. http://www.jeffgalloway.com

  4. jblynn says:

    B.E. — That’s an awesome goal. I’m so glad you’re joining me! 🙂

  5. Hmm, this intrigues me. I think it is awesome that you’re taking charge of your life! I think that is often the hardest thing any of us face.

    June will be too busy for me to start this challenge (I’m going home to visit with family and friends for two weeks), but I might start it in July. Of course, I have vacations then too, but life doesn’t stop just because we have words to write, lol!

  6. jblynn says:

    Thanks, Natalie.

    LOL, it would be awesome if life could just stop so that we could write.

    I hope that if you decide to try it, you’ll let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

