What would YOU like to do in 100 days?

This afternoon while I was freaking out about my next deadline (which isn’t until July 3rd, I just like to freak out early and often) I started flipping through the calendar…you know, one of those old-fashioned print things with pretty pictures.  I realized that, as of tomorrow, I’ll be 100 days away from an anniversary of sorts.  Back then I would have said my world ended and I lost everything that day.

Now, in my less melodramatic hours, I’ll say my world changed dramatically and I lost a lot because of my divorce.

On my good days (after a pot of coffee or two) I’ll say that not all the changes were bad and that a lot of what I’d thought I’d “lost” I was better off not having in the first place.

But the truth is, no matter what kind of day I’m having, I’ve been in survival mode. I’m still in the place where I have to give myself a pep talk before I drag myself out of bed to face each day. Thank goodness the dog’s need to go out never wavers, lol. There have been times when his need has been the only thing that could get me moving.

Which isn’t to say I’ve stayed in bed all day and done nothing. I’ve moved, written a couple of books, attended a writing conference, visited with old friends, and joined a running group. All of which sounds great, but really I’ve just been going through the motions. I’ve been surviving.

I’m tired of surviving. I’d like to live, and thrive, and laugh, and have fun again, but I haven’t known how to shake myself out of this funk I’ve been in. Then this 100 Days thing popped up on tomorrow’s horizon and I decided that I’m going to use these next 14 weeks or so to really challenge myself. I don’t want September 14th to roll around and for me to feel sorry for myself. I want to celebrate what I’ve accomplished, what I’ve gained and what I’ve enjoyed. 

Tomorrow I’ll late out my specific goals, but for now I wanted to ask: What would YOU like to accomplish in 100 days?

 

2 thoughts on “What would YOU like to do in 100 days?

  1. :hugs: I’m so sorry you had to weather any of this. It’s been a rough 265 days. Here’s to a better next 100! I do know whatever you set your mind to doing between now and September, you’ll do it – cuz you have fortitude, even if you don’t always feel like you do.

    You know, right now I can’t think of a darn thing I can do over 100 days. I’d say get an agent, but that’s pretty much out of my hands. I could self publish a book over the next 100 days, but that takes money I don’t have right now. Maybe we’ll have all the orange paint sanded off our house by 9/14, but I hope it will take way fewer days than that. I’m gonna have to get back to you on this one.

  2. jblynn says:

    Thanks, B.E. It should be an interesting adventure!

Leave a Reply

