Endure

I usually try to keep things light here, but, after yesterday’s events, I can’t do that today.  😦

 

Marathoning is an endurance sport. In fact, if you look up the definition of “endurance” in Merriam-Webster, this is what it says:

 the ability to withstand hardship or adversity; especially : the ability to sustain a prolonged stressful effort or activity <a marathon runner’s endurance>

I’ve completed three half marathons. I hope to complete my fourth in the Fall. I doubt I’ll ever complete a full marathon. I KNOW that my slower-than-a-sloth self would never qualify for Boston. Unlike others who constantly push themselves further and faster, I’m okay with that.

I don’t train for speed. I train to endure.

When I think of those in Boston and what they’ve endured, what they’ll continue to endure, what they’ll endure for the rest of their lives, my heart breaks. I can’t make sense of this act of violence.  I’ll never understand it.

My plans for this week included signing up for my next race. I’m still going to do that. It’s a way of enduring. That’s all any of us can do.

My thoughts are with everyone affected by this tragedy.

Be strong.

Endure.

One thought on “Endure

Leave a Reply

