Slow down, you move too fast

Yesterday I was an at an all time low in terms of running motivation. I’ve been struggling for months. Going through the motions, but without any drive.

Today I decided to slow things down. Instead of struggling to run faster, I embraced my inner-sloth and took it slow. Really slow.

And an amazing thing happened…for the first time in a long time, I didn’t hate it. I finished my six miles glad I’d done them. So apparently the key to my happiness is just to slow down, accept my shortcomings, and cover the distance…no matter how long it takes.

On an unrelated note, I’m tickled by this screenshot that shows Stephanie Plum and Maggie Lee going head-to-head.  Huge thanks to all who’ve helped make that happen

 

Screen Shot 2013-04-07 at 4.33.40 PM

6 thoughts on “Slow down, you move too fast

  1. Janet says:

    I don’t think I could get any slower! Great job on finding the mojo again, JB! And Woo Hoo on Maggie taking on Stephanie in the main arena 🙂

  2. Hey, whatever works for you. Before this whole moving mess, I kept telling myself ‘slow writing is better than no writing’ – and you know what? I was right. I miss writing. Too bad I’m still not where I need to be to get it done.

  3. I am soo proud of you and Maggie! You both earned it! 😉 *and Maggie has God… so Steph had better look out!*

    I think you are on to something with the whole ‘slow down’ thing… I find that I ruin a lot of things that I love by pushing too hard… great advice. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed your run!

Leave a Reply

