“The writing suffers from an abundance of forward slashes: and/or, dater/marry-er, etc.”

I have a confession to make: Every time Jack Reacher looks to the side (and trust me, he does it A LOT) I want to slap him, but I like everything else about the series from Lee Child so I keep reading.

We all have our writing quirks and we all have our reading quirks, which is why I thought I’d along one of my favorite lines from a review of FURTHER CONFESSIONS OF A SLIGHTLY NEUROTIC HITWOMAN.

“The writing suffers from an abundance of forward slashes: and/or, dater/marry-er, etc.” Library Journal Reviews

Huh! I had no idea I do that, but after thinking about it, I realized the reviewer is right. Lesson learned.

Long Suffering rants about the fact I use “sidling” too often, so I’ve made a conscious effort to stop using it.

Can you think of any quirks your favorite authors display? Or any you’re guilty of using yourself?

 

2 thoughts on ““The writing suffers from an abundance of forward slashes: and/or, dater/marry-er, etc.”

  1. Huh. I never noticed that. I guess I just don’t focus too much on things like that. If the writing’s good, I just read.

    As for my own writing, other people have a better chance of seeing things in there than I do. I know in the past people have told me I’m a little heavy-handed with the adverbs, so I try to avoid that.

  2. jblynn says:

    B.E. — the virulent hatred of adverbs is disturbingly, maddeningly, bizarre imo đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

