Bruised, but not beaten…yet

Things have not been going particularly smoothly for me for the past few months.

Nothing big has gone terribly wrong, but lots of little things just haven’t worked out the way I’d hoped and planned.

Which is why I’m glaring at the bruise on my left foot. This physical manifestation of my not-the-best-of-luck streak has incurred my wrath.

For months and months I trained to do my third Half Marathon. I was getting faster. I was feeling excited.

And then I injured myself. Neuromas in both feet. Both required shots of cortisone. Ouch!

The right foot healed right away, but the left…no such luck. Which leaves me with a big bruise from the latest treatment, a little pain, and a whole lot of frustration.

That bruise has come to symbolize my frustration with many things.

And yet, I haven’t dropped out of the Half Marathon. I’m still planning on doing it (though I suspect I’ll be forced to walk the entire thing). I’m still limping forward.

Isn’t that what life is all about? Limping onward, no matter what obstacles get thrown in our path?

Still, with all that said, I’m SUPER EXCITED about the upcoming release of FURTHER CONFESSIONS OF A SLIGHTLY NEUROTIC HITWOMAN. I just won’t be able to jump up and down to celebrate, lol.

Are you feeling bruised? Beaten? Elated? Lucky?

4 thoughts on “Bruised, but not beaten…yet

  1. Lisa B says:

    You can jump up and down on a your couch! Seated! Fist pumping!! I could just do the jumping for you while you do the yelling lol Not giving up is awesome though and i am so glad you haven’t done that. Hope it heals up soon though.

    Lisa B

  2. jblynn says:

    Lisa — You’re right! Couch jumping shall commence on the 16th! Thanks!

  3. Oh man, and there I was unloading my crap when you had crap of your own to unload. You should’ve told me to shut the heck up. Or at least started a gripe-fest of your own. If nothing else, we can hang out and feel bruised together. (Bruised, yes, but never beaten. We cannot allow any of this to beat us.)

    :hugs:

  4. jblynn says:

    B.E. — I gripe plenty! 😉

Leave a Reply

