Pre-Publication Rituals?

Knowing that Further Confessions of a Slightly Neurotic Hitwoman releases on October 16th, someone asked me if I have any pre-publication rituals.

I had to think about that for a minute.

Yes, I have prepublication rituals. Unfortunately, none of them are voluntary.

I get stressed out.

My insomnia gets worse.

I sleepwalk/talk even more. 

The other night I was yelling at my husband not to move….or we’d fall off a cliff. (because everyone knows launching a book is like falling off a cliff, right?)

(Luckily he’s a heavy sleeper and has learned to ignore my middle-of-the-night outbursts.)

The next night I woke up on the other side of the room, after trying to get away from people trying to skewer me with pitchforks. (I assume this was my anxiety about reviewers not liking the second in the series book.)

Luckily the dogs are accustomed to my midnight runs and only watch me with mild interest.

These are my glamorous pre-publication rituals.

Do you have any suggestions for what kind of voluntary rituals I could indulge in? If you’re published, do YOU have any pre-pub rituals?

One thought on “Pre-Publication Rituals?

  1. :hugs: Sorry you’re having such a tough time. I know, you could always have the husband take you out for a nice dinner the night before release day. That seems like a nice tradition to start. Or go get a manicure or take a spa day. Something nice for you that’s also good for relieving the stress of release day.

Leave a Reply

