A Perfect Confluence of Suckage

There are times in the life of all of us when we feel like nothing is going right and everything is going wrong.

We suspect we’ve pissed off the Fates.

Or have done something to screw with our karma.

Or crossed the path of a black cat, while walking beneath a ladder, on Friday the 13th.

That’s how I’ve been feeling lately. Like I’ve got the reverse Midas-touch…everything I touch doesn’t turn to gold, but turns to lead. And sinks heavily upon my heart, my soul, my being.

(I’ve been known to resort to melodrama when feeling blue.)

I even named this time: A Perfect Confluence of Suckage — because here’s the thing — my running (which is usually what helps me control stress…of which I’ve had a lot lately) is practically non-existent and my writing is Sisyphus-like as I struggle to push words across the page only to delete them the next time I sit down.

I felt pretty sorry for myself.

Which is pretty stupid because I’m SO psyched about the upcoming release of FURTHER CONFESSIONS OF A SLIGHTLY NEUROTIC HITWOMAN and come hell or high water (I’ve probably jinxed myself with the mere mention of water) I’m doing a half marathon in October too!

So I had to mentally bitch-slap myself because if there’s one thing I know for sure, wallowing in my misery isn’t going to solve the problem. It’ll just make me feel worse.

With my face still stinging from the slap, I put on on my problem-solving cap.

I made an appointment with a podiatrist (since the reason I’m not running is that I’ve gotten so fearful of the pain I know accompanies it) and I gave myself permission to write the story I want to write rather than the story I think I can sell. And WITHIN AN HOUR of relieving myself of the pressure of having to do both, I figured out the PERFECT way to merge them!!! (so excited!!!)

So I’m pretty much over my Perfect Confluence of Suckage now that I’ve taken control of the things I can influence.

What do you do when the Confluence strikes you? What do you call it?

5 thoughts on “A Perfect Confluence of Suckage

  1. PCS sounds like the perfect phrase. And I’m borrowing it because I don’t have a name for when the universe conspires to make everything suck. Unless you count me mumbling “I’m sitting right here on the couch and not doing a damn thing until this goes away” as a name for those PCS days.

    What do I do – I mean other than lay on the couch not moving? I try to do something small that I know I won’t screw up too bad. Or I do my usual stuff and let the suckage fall where it may. Sooner or later something has to go right. It’s the law of averages, isn’t it? It can’t all be suckage forever. Unless there’s some kind of cosmic balance thing and while you’re getting all the suckage, someone else’s life is awesomesauce. I don’t want to think about that possibility.

    If it makes you feel better, my hair is about 2 inches shorter than I meant it to be and I got three rejections today. But I’m trying to stay positive. I haven’t pulled out the gin or opened that half-gallon of BunnyTracks ice cream. ;o)

    Good luck with the orthopedist. I’m sure they’ll find a way to make running not painful again. :hugs:

  2. JenC says:

    I’m calling it PCS from now on. That does describe it perfectly. Glad things are looking up for you!

  3. jblynn says:

    B.E. — I’m glad you like PCS. I like the idea of universal balance….at least someone’s happy.

    Sorry about the rejections. Personally I LOVE short hair, so I’d count that as a win…besides, it’ll grow back.

    Hang in there!

  4. jblynn says:

    JenC — Things aren’t looking up, I am!!! 😉

  5. I’m getting used to it. I just wasn’t sure I was ready to go this short. I even told the stylist that I wasn’t brave enough. Maybe she was being brave for me. ;o)

Leave a Reply

