Why Copy Edits Take Me So Long

I know very few authors who groove on the whole copy edits thing. Most consider them a necessary evil. They are necessary….and they are evil.

Sure, you want to put your best possible product out there for the world to see, but this is the UMPTEENTH time an author is going through a book.

They’re boring.

They’re also pretty time-consuming.

And physically painful. As I type this, a dull ache has settled into my right shoulder. I know from experience, this will soon morph into a sharp, shooting pain.

But the reason they take ME so long (and I’m sure that this isn’t the case with everyone) is that I get so freaking aggravated that I have to get up and walk away from the manuscript.

I have the utmost respect for copy editors. They do an amazing, thankless job, that I myself am incapable of doing.

But they are SOOO literal, they drive me crazy.

I just typed into the comments of my manuscript, “IT’S CALLED MISDIRECTION!!!!!!!!!!” after something was pointed out for a third time.

Also, if a problem is pointed out early in a manuscript, pointing it out again repeatedly later in the manuscript WITH THE SAME LEVEL OF DETAIL is really, really annoying. I understood the issue the first time — now’s the time to point it out and then just MOVE ON!

I get that my reactions to these things are actually a personality flaw on my part. I know the editor is just doing their job, and doing it well, but it drives me nuts. (To be honest, people who say the same thing over and over again, half a dozen ways, drive me just as nuts…but I can interrupt them.)

So that’s why copyedits take me so long…because I’m flawed.

Please tell me one of your character flaws, so I don’t feel so badly about myself.

One thought on “Why Copy Edits Take Me So Long

  1. I could have written this post myself! I’m slow with copy edits too, guessing and second guessing everything. But I know it’s their job to point out any potential “flaw”, and our job to decide what we agree with and what we don’t. Typically for me I think I agree with maybe 75% of it. The rest, I leave alone. 🙂

Leave a Reply

