IS there a Creativity Crisis?

I found this article Are We Losing Creative Thinking Ability by Douglas Eby to be both disturbing and fascinating.

This quote from Dr. Kyung Hee Kim really resonated with me, “Creativity is more than just coming up with an idea, and requires hard work, persistence, and endurance to produce a final product. Imagining a story is different than writing the story. There is no creativity without a final, useful product.”

I have to wonder if part of the creativity crisis is caused by the negative view of failure held by today’s society (despite the fact that the most creative thinkers throughout history failed over and over again) coupled with the ridiculous need for instant gratification that permeates our every day lives.

What do YOU think?

Special thanks to the Craft & Hobby Association for bringing this to my attention. A great organization to check out if you’re in need of some creative inspiration!

3 thoughts on “IS there a Creativity Crisis?

  1. Kelly says:

    I think that as kids, “creativity” is presented to us as being synonymous with “fun activity.” The emphasis is more on a project being a nice break from normal schoolwork and less on the hard work that is needed to sustain creation. So, when we get older we expect creativity to be fun, but don’t count on the endurance that is needed. The realization that creativity, in any field, needs as much work, if not more, as everything else you’re doing can be fatiguing. And it’s easier, though ultimately less satisfying, to take a more established, less time-consuming route.

    I know that I certainly have had wailing-and-gnashing-of-the-teeth moments when I’m writing, when I think, ‘All you ideas! Stop making me do all the work! Just get out of my head and on to the page already!’ But eventually you have to stop yelling at your subconscious and just buckle down.

  2. jblynn says:

    Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts, Kelly.

    I think you’re right. People think being “creative” should be fun or easy.

    It’s hard, but it IS ultimately rewarding.

  3. Interesting article and topic, JB. I don’t agree with the statement “There is no creativity without a final, useful product.” though. All the games we made up as children had no final, useful product. And I’ve got pages and pages of creative stuff that ended up as simply exercises with no purpose other than to flex my creative muscles. So maybe the real answer is there can be no final productivity without creativity at the outset. And as a people, we’re not really fostering an environment of creativity.

    Kids don’t need to entertain themselves anymore for one thing. Who needs to be creative when there are so many gizmos that can be creative for you? I also think the loss of creativity has to do with the old saying “Necessity is the mother of invention.” When the majority of mankind’s needs are met on a daily basis, he has no reason to be creative.

    Just a few thoughts off the top of my head this morning (and some leftover thoughts I’ve had for a while).

Leave a Reply

