Don’t Quit

This morning I really wanted to stop running at three miles. I just wasn’t feeling it. Every step was work. I was tired and achy and just a plain old whiny baby. BUT I really needed to get in a long run (esp while the humidity was lower) so I didn’t fall far behind in my training for the half marathon I’m doing in October.

My mantra for the next four and a half miles was “Don’t quit. Don’t quit. Don’t quit.” It’s got a good cadence to match one’s footfalls to.

When I got home (proud that I’d completed my scheduled 7.5 miles) I put a pair of running socks on my wish list today that say “Don’t Quit” on the heel. (My theory is that anyone who’s behind me in a race is slower than me, and if you’re slower than me, I’m guessing you’ve wanted to quit a couple gazillion times.)

I got to thinking that the Don’t Quit socks would probably come in handy whether or not you’re a runner. Aren’t there days that we all want to quit something?

What mantras/tricks do you use when you want to quit something but know you shouldn’t?

 

5 thoughts on “Don’t Quit

  1. Casey L Conley says:

    Thank you for this post. The timing was superb. 🙂

  2. jblynn says:

    Don’t quit, Casey!!!

  3. Great post, JB. Don’t you quit. And I won’t either (even though I’ve been a total slug this week). The only trick I have is when I’m writing and I feel like stopping, I tell myself to take a break and come back to it. 5 minutes outside and I’m usually good for another 700 words. Then I can stop for the night.

  4. jblynn says:

    B.E. — It’s amazing how restorative a quick change if scenery can be.

  5. JenC says:

    Great post! I often tell myself – ‘just finish this, then you can quit’ – by the time I remember I gave myself permission to quit, I’m in the middle of something else and telling myself ‘now, just finish this…’

Leave a Reply

