Thinking ahead and Word Nerd

When I was a kid, my parents encouraged us to play a lot of “thinking games”: Scrabble, Monopoly (we had to do all the math ourselves) Boggle (my fave!) Bridge, Chess and Word Nerd.

If memory serves (and I’m getting old, so don’t take my memory as gospel) the tagline for Word Nerd was: The Game Where It Pays to Think Ahead (or maybe it was Plan Ahead).

I don’t remember whether I was any good at Word Nerd (I kicked butt in Boggle!) but the lesson to always think ahead (or plan ahead) was deeply ingrained. I’m ALWAYS thinking and planning ahead (as evidenced that I just signed up for my first 5k of 2013!).

What games did you play as a kid? What games do you play now?

I play Scrabble, Bananagrams, Sodoku, and Password.

5 thoughts on “Thinking ahead and Word Nerd

  1. I’ve never heard of Word Nerd. And now I’m sad because I probably would’ve loved it. Growing up, we had Boggle, Life, Operation, checkers, cards, Go For Broke, cribbage, and Dungeons and Dragons (the original set that my dad bought back when I was still too young to play). Oh and we had RISK! which I don’t think we ever really played right. With five kids in the house, my parents knew it was either games or insanity.

    I don’t really play games anymore. Every rare once in a while we’ll break out my daughter’s Scrabble and play. but that’s about it. (Well, since I quit playing online poker, that is.)

  2. JenC says:

    I never heard of Word Nerd either, but I used to love Boggle and Scrabble. I still play Book Worm a lot on the PC and I love logic puzzles.

  3. jblynn says:

    B.E. and JenC — Do you play Words With Friends? I forgot to mention I play that too.

  4. Does anyone remember UpWords? An easier version of Scrabble. I played that a lot, but my favorites were money games – Monopoly and PayDay, and also this this war game called Game of the Generals (which was a version of Risk/Capture the Flag).

    When I was really little, I liked Trouble, and the one with the snapping crocodiles (forget the name). And Connect Four.

  5. jblynn says:

    Jennifer — I don’t remember UpWords. Trouble was the one that popped right? And I don’t remember snapping crocodiles, but I do remember Hungry Hippos.

Leave a Reply

