Unexpected Rewards

I didn’t expect today’s run to go well. I’m tired. I’m in pain.I didn’t feel like doing it.

But, it was on the schedule, so out we went.

We got an earlyish start so the weather was still nice (meaning not too hot).

The park was fairly crowded, but fortunately we did encounter any rude runners or killer cyclists. We had four miles scheduled, but because neither of us was dying, we went a bit further when we got to our turn-around point, so ended up finish closer to five miles (4.86).

And then, on the way back, during our next-to-last run interval, we spotted them. Goldfinches!

Image

Aren’t they adorable?

Goldfinches are the NJ State Bird. So you’d think seeing them would be a common occurrence, but no, I’ve spent my entire life in this state and never saw one until I was over twenty…and then it wasn’t in the state!

But here, at our magic park, we spotted three of them! (I’ve seen them at this park before, but these were the first of the year.)

Seeing them at the end of the run was like a little reward for getting out the door even when I didn’t feel like it.

What unexpected rewards have you encountered lately?

4 thoughts on “Unexpected Rewards

  1. I love goldfinches. Michigan is lousy with them, and we get a bunch of them here in the Spring as they head north. Until this year, though, I couldn’t get any of them to sit still for a pic.

    Good for you, going out on that run when you didn’t want to, and then going the extra .86 mile. You rock.

    No unexpected rewards that I can think of. Yesterday I had the Daughter make me cookies – so those were totally expected, and they weren’t so much a reward as a ‘I want cookies, but I’m too lazy to make them’. ;o)

  2. JenC says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen a goldfinch. I consider myself lucky to see a cardinal now and then.

    My plans to have an exercise schedule this year have yet to get off the ground, but on Saturday I did take a nice long walk near the end of it, I sat on a bench in front of the most gorgeous view of the pond – I considered that my reward for putting aside all the other things I should have been doing and going for a walk. Now, if I could do that every day…

  3. jblynn says:

    B.E. — LOL, I think having an on-duty cookie maker is a pretty awesome reward!

    JenC — I actually see quite a few cardinals around where I live, especially this year.

    Ah, to sit in front of a pond after a long walk is pretty close to heaven in my book. You should do it more often!!

  4. Casey L Conley says:

    That’s neat!

    hmmm… let’s see.. as a result of my nanowrimo state of mind, I’m learning to do a little each day..not just of writing, but all my regular tasks, so my laundry is kept up, and my dishes.. now i have over 130 additional pgs on wip PLUS a clean house! 😀

    btw, wow… that’s an impressive run! yay!

Leave a Reply

