Immersion

So yesterday I tried the 10K in a Day for Writers thing. It was fun and I’m fried.

I topped out at 5216 words which I was thrilled with esp. considering I had multiple phone calls about another project to deal with during the day.

I have to say that I found it to be challenging to keep changing my focus. I really just wanted to be immersed in one project, giving it my full focus and not contending with distractions, but life doesn’t work that way.

What strategies do YOU employ to keep yourself immersed in your story? Or do you happily juggle multiple creative projects simultaneously?

4 thoughts on “Immersion

  1. Kate Perry says:

    I can’t work on multiple projects at once. I’ve tried (working on one in the morning and the other in the evening) but I work so much more efficiently if I start one and just write it. That’s the challenge, I think: make the book interesting, fun, scary, amusing… enough that even I can’t turn away from it. It’s a bad sign if I’m getting bored with my characters.

    Maybe I just need practice being schizophrenic. (Please no comment on that.)

    PS: 5k is a frickin whole lot of words–period. I’m shaking pompoms at you (in a nonthreatening way).

  2. 5216 words? In one day? WOW! That’s more than I’ve ever written in one day, ever. Congrats!

    I’m not a good juggler. I’m better with one task at a time, but that isn’t realistic these days, unfortunately.

  3. jblynn says:

    Kate — You make a good point about not getting bored with your story. When I find I’m getting bored with mine, it’s a sure sign I’ve gone in the wrong direction.

    Are you wearing a tutu while shaking the pompoms?

    Jennifer — It makes you jealous of the writers of the past who “only” had to write, doesn’t it??

  4. 5216? You rock. =o)

    I haven’t immersed myself in a story in a while. It’s something I’m hoping to get back to soon – and if not soon, at least in November.

Leave a Reply

