Goals for the week of 7-25-11 Progress, Not Perfection

Ready to tackle the new week?

Yesterday I posted my progress, or lack thereof, for last week. Here are my goals for this week. I hope you’ll share yours so that we can make progress together. You guys are an inspiration to me!

– write and KEEP 10,000 words this week (Currently at 16,280)

– blog at least four times this week (I’m over at Killer Chicks today talking about talismans!)

– I’m waiting for feedback from multiple people on multiple projects (like that’s not totally confusing). Once I get the feedback the goal is to implement suggested changes…or run screaming into oncoming traffic…

– The unrelenting heat has decimated my training plan for my half marathon. Worse than that though, is the fact that I’m utterly devoid of motivation. (Plus, I keep hurting myself, massive klutz that I am!)I don’t even have a goal for the week, which is just beyond pathetic.


What are YOUR goals for the week? What kind of progress are you making?


and what do you think is holding you back from being your best self?

5 thoughts on “Goals for the week of 7-25-11 Progress, Not Perfection

  1. I blame summer for my supreme lack of motivation. The heat just drains me of any ambition whatsoever. I did start a new story yesterday…my goal is to write a scene a day.

  2. Right now I have personal stuff freaking me out and distracting me from achieving my goals. (Not the least of which is Daughter off to college in less than a month. :urp:) What I need to do is focus on my goals to distract myself from the stew of stress I’ve gotten stirred into.

    Okay, so for this week, I’m going to try to get at least two more chapters retyped (and I’m leaving stupid chapter 6 alone until after the in-law goes home – I can’t think about both at once). I’m also still striving to shed some pounds, so I’d like to keep up the good work with walking and get in at least 3-4 times exercising otherwise.

    Your motivation will come back, JB. Hang in there. :hugs:

  3. JB Lynn says:

    Jennifer — Good for you for starting a new story!

    B.E. — I’m sorrry you’re going thru such a stressful time, but I think that you’re right in thinking that focusing on your goals can help you through it. (The walking should help too!) Hang in there!

  4. My goal for the week is to continue revising. I’m also going to try to get 8 hours of sleep every night this week – I’ve been sleeping horribly lately and my energy has been extremely low. Also, I’d like to lose 2 lbs which I think is completely doable for 7 days, but I gotta work out, and I have no energy to work out! And to think, I can’t even blame the heat for my lack of my motivation… because it’s not hot here!

  5. Lindsay says:

    SUmmer has really stunted me. With all three kids out of school and looking to me for daily entertainment/activities my writing self has been squished into a tiny corner of my mind and is begging to be set free. You’re doing a great job JB!!! Just don’t run into oncoming traffic…please?

Leave a Reply

