Got goals? Halfway thru 2011

I happen to think it’s important to check in on a regular basis on the progress one is making toward achieving their goals. Since we’re halfway through the year, I thought I’d revisit the goals I’d set back in January. I hope you’ll tell me all about YOUR successes and setbacks.

In January I stated:

My goals for 2011 include:

– Submit another novel to my editor

– Finish the two novels I started last year

– Finish the novel, I keep promising my husband.

– Market THE FIRST VICTIM…tentative release date 6/13/11!

– Blog 3x per week (at Killer Chicks on Mondays, and here Wednesdays and Fridays)

– Draw something every day

– Walk a minimum of one mile per day

– Complete a half marathon

– Report my progress on these goals the first Wednesday of every month

So how am I doing? Well, I did submit another novel to my editor, but so far I’ve failed to finish either novel I started last year. I also haven’t finished the novel I keep promising to my husband. ((sigh))

I did successfully (or at least to the best of my ability) market THE FIRST VICTIM. It took a lot more time and energy than I’d expected…which is one of the reasons I’ve fallen behind on actual writing.

I’ve done fairly well with blogging three times per week. Not perfect, but I’ve made the effort.

I gave up on drawing something every day. I suck at it and found no joy in it.

Walking one mile per day was a great goal for the winter, but once I started in on training for a quarter marathon and a half marathon, it fell to the wayside. Starting today, I’m going to reinstitute it as a moving meditation, rather than a form of exercise, since I miss it.

I’m pretty close to completing my half marathon! In May I did a half-marathon relay (which means I did 6.5 miles instead of 13.1). The half marathon I’m signed up for is just over a month away. Yesterday I did 11 miles, so I don’t forsee any problems finishing 13.1 in August.

I think I missed posting my progress one month, but I’ve tried to post my progress (or lack thereof, lol) every month.

How have YOU done so far this year?

Next week I’m going to launch “PROGRESS not perfection” so think about what you hope to achieve in the next six months. I want us all to finish 2011 thinking we’ve had a kickass year!

One thought on “Got goals? Halfway thru 2011

  1. Ack. I don’t want to look back at this year. I didn’t accomplish much of anything as far as my writing goes. I sent out a bunch of queries, got a bunch of rejections and one request, which turned into a rejection. I did screw my courage on and submit to an e-publisher – a first for me. I’m still waiting on that. I finished my NaNo novel in February (November is never quite long enough to do a whole book, IMO) and just started editing it a couple weeks ago. That’s about it.

    In the rest of life, we finished homeschooling and daughter’s almost off to college. Now I just need to get her past the college math placement exams. Next week. Keep your fingers crossed for her.

Leave a Reply

