What’s in your cup?

Jennifer Colgan is discussing the glass half full/half empty thing over at Killer Chicks.

This got me thinking about what’s in my cup. (If you want to know why I’ve chosen “cup” instead of “glass” you should read her piece and participate in the poll.) I happen to feel that most of my hot drinks have an almost medicinal quality, what about you?

Most of the time coffee is in my cup.  I’ve been drinking it since I was about seven, so I guess you could say I’m a lifelong addict. Coffee is my primary energy source.

Which isn’t to say I don’t drink tea. Most afternoons I sip a cup when I’m feeling frazzled. I’m a woman of simple tastes, so more times than not, I’ll steep some English Breakfast (though if I’m trying to cheer myself up, I’ll indulge in Black Currant).

And then there are times, whether it’s because I’m cold, or just because I want a treat, I’ll make myself a steamer with hot skim milk and caramel syrup. (I’m  not a hot chocolate gal.)

So what about you? What’s in YOUR cup on any given day?

11 thoughts on “What’s in your cup?

  1. Coffee! I love coffee. Most mornings I’d bathe in it if I could find a big enough cup. Around lunch, I switch to Mtn Dew. I do occasionally drink tea or juice, but those are the two big drinks in my life. Although, now that I’m trying to lose weight and be healthier, I really should drink more water. (Yeah, like that’s gonna happen.)

  2. Coffee. Water. Or sometimes chai tea. And in the winter, around Christmas, minty hot chocolate. YUM.

  3. Joann says:

    Coffee, coffee, coffee! Also, I’ve tripled my water intake in the last couple of weeks. It’s surprising how much more clearly I can think while hydrated. Funny how that works. I also love milk, chai, green teas, and did I mention coffee? Diet coke with splenda, add to it a dash of lime = yum.

  4. My day always starts with coffee. I can’t write well without it, but if I have more than two cups, I’ll be a jittery mess and will be up for 24 hours. So if I feel the need for a pick me up later in the day, I’ll have jasmine green tea (Good Earth brand tastes the best to me).

  5. jblynn says:

    I’ve never been able to get into green tea despite of how good it’s supposed to be for you. Good for you, Jenny!

  6. Iced tea is my drink of choice most of the time. Hot drinks are resereved only for very cold days. My main source of fuel is chocolate.

  7. Maggie says:

    I had to look up steamers. Sounds great! Better than my green tea.

  8. jblynn says:

    Chocolate makes for good fuel! 😉

Leave a Reply

