Going back to move forward

One of my goals for this year is to finish the book I keep promising my husband. Quite frankly it’s been hanging around for a couple of years, and every couple of months he asks about it.

I’ve had a lot of excuses over the years not to finish it, not the least of which is that it’s pretty far out of my comfort zone. It’s a genre I haven’t written before and it’s a genre I don’t even read much of…but he does, which is why I started it in the first place.

So I’m working on it now (despite the conventional wisdom about developing a niche…blah blah blah) and I’ve got to say, I’m enjoying it.

I thought I’d feel like I was taking a giant step backward by unearthing this manuscript, but I find I’m looking forward to working on it every day.

Do you ever abandon projects and then return to finish them?

9 thoughts on “Going back to move forward

  1. I am the queen of this. I firmly believe that good manuscripts have to ferment, sometimes for years before they can truly be completed.

    • jblynn says:

      Really? Does that mean a certain book featuring an anteater will one day come to fruition?

      After all I KNOW I’ve read it…despite the fact it hasn’t been written….

  2. I’m doing this right now. Once I got my NaNoWriMo project done and left it to simmer, I didn’t want to start something new, so I went back to a project I never quite finished. It needs big chunks rewritten, but I still like the premise, so I’m going for it. =o)

    Good luck with your ‘out of the comfort zone’ project.

  3. Joann says:

    Woo hoo! Your hubby will be so happy. Would love to hear more when you feel like sharing.

    I unearthed my first manuscript after sending my second one out. I spent months rewriting/shaping/etc. and just couldn’t fix it, no matter what I did. So it’s been sent to the depths for now. Perhaps a few years from now I’ll take another peek.

  4. Jenny says:

    I too am intrigued to hear more about this book! At least us give us a little hint…

    If I walk away from a project, it’s likely I’ll never get back to it again. It’s all about momentum for me, unfortunately.

  5. jblynn says:

    Hmmm…a hint….okay, it’s not a thriller…

  6. Really? Does that mean a certain book featuring an anteater will one day come to fruition?

    Someday…and since you’ve read it, all I need is for you to tell me the middle, and I’m good to go.

Leave a Reply

