Information overload

I don’t like museums.

I like the idea of museums, but actually being in one gives me a headache. There’s just too much to take in.

I’d like to blame it on the fact we’re a society with an ever-dwindling attention span, but I’ve always been this way, even before computers came along to barrage us with non-stop information.

I like my information in small bits that I can absorb and put into a context I understand. Unfortunately, life isn’t always delivered like that.

I’m STRUGGLING to get through the self-editing class I’m taking. There’s just SO much information to absorb all at once.

Today I’ve got a teleconference class about author brand and building a website that I’m absolutely dreading because I know it’ll be overflowing with great information…half of which I’ll be unable to absorb.

What about you? Do you suffer from information overload or are you an eager sponge soaking up all that is offered?

9 thoughts on “Information overload

  1. I definitely suffer from inforfmation overload. I’ve got so many things I’m trying to do/learn/create at once that I don’t know what to do first a lot of time. I would love to just have one thing at a time to deal with and absorb, but it’s never that way. I’m not sure what the answer is, but if you find out, let me know.

  2. Oh, yeah, I get it in museums and in stores.

    What works for me is to go into places like that with a focus in mind. I don’t try to take it all in; I go to one room in the museum, and I take that work in. I don’t try to browse through the whole store; I have a list of what I need ahead of time, and I focus on those things. I miss a lot, but then again, I get more out of it than I would have otherwise.

  3. Joann says:

    Oh man, I know exactly what you mean! I was just thinking about this the other day in the context of writing. There are still things I’m absorbing from all the books I read in the first year. Sometimes I think you just have to shut out the bombardment to get anything done.

    I hope your teleconference goes well! I consider myself ahead if I get 2 or 3 take-aways that I can actually apply from a rush of information like that.

  4. Lindsay says:

    You know, I’d like to say that I’m a sponge, but in reality, I hear everything and really only comprehend a fraction of it LOL! Information overload – absolutely!

  5. Jenny says:

    The teleconference sounds really cool! You should blog about what you learned *not so subtle hint*

    I don’t feel like I’m absorbing anything at all right now. But neither am I overloaded. My brain just feels sort of… dormant.

Leave a Reply

