What’s that smell?

Yesterday the smell in my kitchen reminded me of my writing life. 

Since I was cooking for the week, I was making a turkey meatloaf (loaded with barbecue sauce and onions) along with a “Mexican”-style bean dish — cumin, chili powder and jalepeno, AND an “Indian”-style dish with chickpeas, curry, tumeric, and ginger.

The three distinct flavor profiles mixed together.  It wasn’t an unpleasant odor, just a confusing one.

Right now, I’ve got a number of different projects going on in my writing world, each of them their own separate dish. Balancing them isn’t unpleasant, just a confusing challenge.

What about you? What weird mixtures do you have going on in your life right now?

It’s Status Check Monday over at KILLER CHICKS. Come on by and tell us what you’ve been up to and what your goals for this week are!

6 thoughts on “What’s that smell?

  1. Great analogy. I’ve got a mixture of this new thriller I’m working on and a growing sense of nostalgia (going home after reading Paper Towns did it). These two things don’t go so well together unless I want a nostalgic thriller. lol

  2. Jenny says:

    I really only have one project going on, and it’s kicking my ass. The Doubts have crept in. F*ck. I was hoping they would wait until I hit the 60-70k mark before showing up.

  3. Does it count if one is my rewrite and the other is my fundraiser for the non-profit? We added a raffle this year so keeping track of who was asked to donate, who has sent things, who has promised to send but hasn’t and who declined in addition to remembering to hit up vendors, reserve location, get proper permits is a juggling act all on it’s own. When you add in booking schools (regular part of the non-profit), rewrites based on notes in time for upcoming writer’s conference and my blog…whew!

    I’m so impressed that you cook for the WEEK! Do you freeze stuff or does it keep all week in the fridge? I may have to start trying this! That Indian dish sounds right up my vegetarian alley!

    • jblynn says:

      Yes, Jennie, that mixture definitely counts! You’ve got a lot on your plate!

      I don’t actually cook for the WHOLE week, but I do like to cook multiple meals at a time. We tend to eat meat/poultry/fish every other day, so I make a lot of vegetarian-friendly dishes and they tend to freeze well. I’m always on the look out for veggie recipes, so feel free to share some any time!

Leave a Reply

